

COUNCIL MINUTES

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING

WEDNESDAY 22 MARCH 2017

Minutes are subject to confirmation at the next meeting as a correct record of the proceedings and any amendments arising will be recorded in the minutes of that subsequent meeting.



PRESENT

The Mayor Councillor Mercy Umeh Deputy Mayor Councillor Daryl Brown

Councillors:

Adronie Alford Colin Aherne Andrew Brown Joe Carlebach Michael Cartwright Iain Cassidy Elaine Chumnery Ben Coleman Adam Connell Stephen Cowan Larry Culhane

Alan De'Ath Belinda Donovan Sue Fennimore Steve Hamilton Wesley Harcourt Sharon Holder Lucy Ivimy Donald Johnson Andrew Jones Robert Largan Jane Law Mark Loveday Vivienne Lukey Sue Macmillan PJ Murphy Natalia Perez Max Schmid Greg Smith Rory Vaughan Guy Vincent

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Cowan, and the Leader of the Opposition, Councillor Greg Smith, made speeches condemning the terrorist incident that took place at Westminster earlier in the day. The Mayor then led the Council in a minute of silence to remember the victims and their families.

1. <u>MINUTES</u>

RESOLVED

That the minutes of the Council Meeting held on 22 February 2017 were confirmed and signed as an accurate record.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Ali Hashem, Hannah Barlow, Lisa Homan, Caroline Needham, Charlie Dewhirst, Harry Phibbs, Alex Karmel, Michael Adam, Marcus Ginn, Caroline Ffiske, Frances Stainton, Nicholas Botterill, and Viya Nsumbu.

3. MAYOR'S/CHIEF EXECUTIVE'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor noted that this was the last Council meeting of the Chief Executive, Nigel Pallace. Nigel joined the Council 25 years ago as the Assistant Director for Development Services. He worked as the Director of Environment, then Executive Director of Transport and Technical Services before becoming Chief Executive. Nigel worked on many projects that shaped the landscape of the borough including Westfield London. The Mayor, on behalf of the whole Council, thanked Nigel for his service to the borough and wished him all the best for the future.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Cowan, and the Leader of the Opposition, Councillor Greg Smith, made speeches thanking Nigel for his contributions to the borough.

4. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

There were no declarations of interest.

5. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION/COMMITTEE REPORTS

5.1 Appointment of the Head of Paid Service

7.15pm – The report and recommendations were formally moved for adoption by the Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Cowan.

Speeches on the report were made by Councillors Stephen Cowan, Michael Cartwright, Sue Fennimore, and Max Schmid (for the Administration) - and Councillors Greg Smith, Joe Carlebach, and Andrew Brown (for the Opposition).

The report and recommendations were then put to the vote:

FOR	UNANIMOUS
AGAINST	0
NOT VOTING	0

7.43pm – RESOLVED

- 1. That Ms Kim Dero be appointed to act as the Interim Chief Executive for the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham with effect from 1st April 2017.
- 2. That Ms Kim Dero be appointed to act as the Head of Paid Service for the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham with effect from the same date.
- 3. That the appointment of Ms Kim Dero as the Returning Officer and Electoral Registration Officer, be approved.

Minutes are subject to confirmation at the next meeting as a correct record of the proceedings and any amendments arising will be recorded in the minutes of that subsequent meeting.

5.2 **Appointment of the Monitoring Officer**

7.43pm – The report and recommendations were formally moved for adoption by the Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Cowan.

Councillor Stephen Cowan made a speech on the report (for the Administration) before it was put to the vote:

FOR	UNANIMOUS
AGAINST	0
NOT VOTING	0

7.47pm – RESOLVED

- 1. That Rhian Davies be appointed as the Council's interim Monitoring Officer from 22nd March 2017.
- 2. That the amendments to the Officers' Scheme of delegation to reflect the role and responsibilities of the Monitoring Officer attached as appendix A, be approved.

Meeting started: 7.00 pm Meeting ended: 7.48 pm

Mayor